Workshop: 8/9 November 2018

Cultures of Critique
Utrecht University

Cultures of Critique

two-day workshop organized together with Graduate Programme Cultures of Critique
Leuphana University, Lüneburg, Germany

Cultures of Critique

What are our “cultures of critique”? Taking up the title of the Leuphana University Graduate Programme “Kulturen der Kritik” as a question, we invited participants to contribute a position paper (1000-1500 words) in order to reflect on these points: How do you understand critique as a method in your academic or artistic work? To what extent is the manner of your working, and not just the subject matter of your work, critical? Is it? Are there concrete methods or strategies that you use or develop to enact what you view as ‘critical’? If so, how would you conceptualize these? How do you relate to your material: translating, coding, transposing, deconstructing, juxtaposing, creating relations…? In how far are these critical operations for you?

As in earlier workshops, we base our discussion on the position papers and the perspectives they generate.



Thursday, November 8, 2018

10.15-12.15 Session 1

12.15-13.45 lunch break

13.45-15.45 Session 2

17.00-18.00 tour @ Casco Art Institute

18.30 dinner


Friday, November 9, 2018

10.15-12.15 Session 3

12.15-14.00 lunch break

14.00-15.30 Session 4

15.30-16.00 closing discussion




Migle Bareikyte (Leuphana University)
Staci Bu Shea (Casco Utrecht)
Ezgi Hamzaçebi (Bogazici University)
Elisabeth Heymer (Leuphana University)
Erich Hörl (Leuphana University)
Birgit M. Kaiser (Utrecht University)
Sami Khatib (Leuphana University)
Henrike Kohpeiß (Leuphana University)
Holger Kuhn (Leuphana University)
Boaz Levin (Leuphana University)
Oona Lochner (Leuphana University)
Liza Mattutat (Leuphana University)
Isabel Mehl (Leuphana University)
Juliane Rahn (Leuphana University)
Alia Rayyan (Leuphana University)
Beate Söntgen (Leuphana University)
Anne Sauvagnargues (Université de Paris Nanterre)
Judith Sieber (Leuphana University)
Heiko Stubenrauch (Leuphana University)
Kathrin Thiele (Utrecht University)
Oraib Toukan (Oxford University)
Lotte Warnsholdt (Leuphana University)